Claire Fuller’s Swimming Lessons is Now Published!

Swimming Lessons has now been published in the UK, Canada, US and as an audio book. And I’m delighted that it’s already number nine on the Canadian bestseller list! It was selected by Canadian bookstore chain, Indigo as their book of the month for February, and also as February book club pick for women’s fashion brand TOAST.

Win a tote bag from TOAST

TOAST has reviewed Swimming Lessons and is offering a tote bag to one person who comments on their review. Click here to read and enter.

Recommendations and Reviews

I’m sure you know that most books are bought on recommendation, either from an online review or from someone you know. All reviews and recommendations help increase the awareness of a book, and so I’m asking if you’ve read and enjoyed Swimming Lessons to write a short review or recommend it. Whether that’s on Amazon (even if you haven’t bought the book from there you can still leave a review), tweeting about it, posting a picture of you reading it on Facebook, or just telling a friend about it – it all helps spread the word. Thank you! 
Amazon UK  Amazon US  Amazon Canada

Its Not Who You Know by Claire Fuller

For the next couple of weeks, Hampshire Writers’ Society has gone all Publishy. Here, Claire Fuller tells us about finding her Agent.

Claire Fuller at HWS Book Fair
Claire Fuller at HWS Book Fair

It’s Not Who You Know

A few years ago when I was in the middle of writing my first novel, without any idea about what would happen to it, I went to a talk by a writer who told us how her book came to be published. ‘I went to a party in London,’ she said. ‘And I met a girl there who was the receptionist at a London literary agency. A few days later I sent her my manuscript; she showed it to her boss; and he offered to represent me. You’ve got to know someone in the industry.’

All of us came out of that talk feeling dejected – getting published was about who you know, and I didn’t know anyone, and I certainly didn’t get invited to any London parties.

But, I’m pleased to say that she was wrong. My novel got picked up from the ‘slush pile’, and I now know that so do many more. It’s not about who you know, but it is about following the rules.

Of course you still have to write a novel that an agent will be interested in. You need to be passionate about it, and that passion needs to come across in the writing. And it goes without saying that it must be well written and brilliantly edited.

After that you only need to regard your submission like a job application. I used Agent Hunter (www.agenthunter.co.uk) to select twelve agents who had open lists, were looking for my genre, and were interested in debut authors. I went onto each of their websites and I sent them a submission that followed their guidelines exactly and professionally. No funny coloured font, no gifts enclosed, no begging letters (and agents do receive all of these).

There is still some luck involved – will your submission hit the right desk at the right time? But get the basics right, and your novel, like mine, can be selected without knowing anyone in the industry or getting invited to any parties in London.

 

Claire Fuller, a member of the Hampshire Writers Society, is the author of Our Endless Numbered Days, published by Penguin.Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller It won the 2015 Desmond Elliott Prize and is a Richard & Judy, and Waterstones Book Club book.

www.clairefuller.co.uk

@ClaireFuller2

 

 

M.J. Arlidge – Liar, Liar – Published 10th September

PenguinLiar LiarLIAR LIAR

M.J. ARLIDGE

Published on 10th September 2015

£7.99 paperback/eBook

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Mo Hayder, Liar Liar showcases all the hallmarks of Arlidge’s taut and rapid-fire writing including his protagonist DI Helen Grace and the Southampton-based team. Faced with yet another ruthless serial killer, one with a penchant for pyromania, DI Helen Grace is an unwilling participant in a race against this new sadistic combatant.

  • A tantalizing follow-up to Eeny Meeny, Pop Goes the Weasel, and The Doll’s House which sees the return of series heroine DI Helen Grace
  • M.J. Arlidge sold in 28 territories and counting
  • M.J. Arlidge is one of Penguin’s most successful crime writers and, delivering a book every six months, neither his books not his sales show signs of slowing down
  • Sales for the series so far in the UK are 384k since Eeny Meeny published in May 2014.
  • DI Helen Grace series is in development for TV at the BBC.

M.J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years specializing in high-end drama production, including prime-time crime serials Torn, The Little House and, most recently, Undeniable. Currently writing for the hit BBC series Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. In 2015 his audio exclusive Six Degrees of Assassination was a number one bestseller. His debut thriller, Eeny Meeny was the UK’s bestselling crime debut of 2014. It was followed by the bestselling Pop Goes the Weasel and The Doll’s House. Liar Liar is the fourth DI Helen Grace thriller.

 

REVIEWS FOR M.J. ARLIDGE:

‘This is going to be as big as Jo Nesbo’ Judy Finnigan

‘Detective Inspector Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years’ Jeffery Deaver

‘Taut, fast-paced, truly excellent’ The Sun

‘DI Helen Grace is a genuinely fresh heroine … Arlidge weaves together a tapestry that chills to the bone’ Daily Mail

‘Chilling stuff’ Fabulous, Sun on Sunday

‘A chilling read’ My Weekly

‘Page-turningly chilling’ The Times

‘A grisly, gripping thriller’ Sunday Mirror

‘Gruesomely realistic, intriguing and relentless. Arlidge’s fledgling army of fans is about to grow’ Sunday Sport

‘Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace. Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs. Mesmerizing!’ Lisa Gardner

‘Expertly pulled off. It has a devious premise. DI Helen Grace is fiendishly awesome. It’s scary as all hell. And it has a full cast of realistically drawn, interesting characters that make the thing read like a bullet’ Will Lavender

James Marrison – The Drowning Ground – Published 27th August

PenguinTHE DROWNING GROUND

JAMES MARRISON

Published on 27 August 2015

£16.99 hardback

A man is found dead near his home, a pitchfork through his neck. When DCI Guillermo Downes is called to the scene he realizes he knows the victim.

A decade earlier, Downes promised the families of two missing girls that he would find their daughters. Although cleared of any involvement, the dead man had been a suspect. As the ripples from his death spread through the local community Downes hopes he might make good on his promise.

But as Downes pursues the case he soon finds a darkness at the heart of this investigation more dreadful than he ever imagined.

  • The Drowning Ground is James Marrison’s chilling fiction debut and marks the arrival of an exceptional crime writer
  • Introduces an intriguing new series characters, DCI Guillermo Downes and Sergeant Graves
  • Perfect for fans of Broadchurch and The Missing

James Marrison is a journalist whose writing has appeared in a number of national newspapers. Marrison now lives in Buenos Aires, which provides the inspiration for his lead character, Argentinian born detective Guillermo Downes, in his debut novel The Drowning Ground. James is originally from the Cotswolds and will be in the UK for publication.

‘Dark, gripping and unexpected’ – Linwood Barclay